Make your own free website on


By Stephen C Sutusky


         The AAA lower state playoffs were very exciting this season.  Five teams all had legitimate shots at winning the lower state title.  In the end Carolina Forest prevailed to face Lugoff-Elgin in the state finals.  Last Monday, Lake City and Camden battled to a tie with Lake City winning on criteria.  The same night Brookland-Cayce defeated Georgetown, Dreher beat North Charleston and Carolina Forest defeated Darlington.  The Wednesday quarter-finals featured two great region match ups.  Carolina Forest defeated Lake City by twelve.  Brookland-Cayce avenged an earlier season loss to defeat Dreher in Dreher’s home gym.  This set up a Carolina Forest – Brookland-Cayce match up on Saturday.  The lower state final between CF and BC was one of the best matches I have ever witnessed.  Three days early I thought I saw the best AAA match of the year when Brookland-Cayce edged Dreher, however, the BC – CF match was intense from beginning to end and because it was for the lower state title gets the nod as best AAA lower state match of the season.  The best match of the day was at 112 where Bobby Burgess defeated Andrew Hinson in double overtime.  However, Carolina Forest prevailed in the end with a 36-35 victory.  Congrats to Coach Meyer’s team for winning the lower state title.  I will provide analysis of this weekend’s individual tournament and also name a lower state wrestler of the year. 


FINAL TEAM RANKINGS               My Wrestler of the year finalists:

  1. Carolina Forest                          Theo Meyeranos and Josh Caulder (CF)
  2. Brookland-Cayce                          Brockington and McFadden (LC)   
  3. Dreher                                                 Bobby Burgess and Matt Johnson (BC)
  4. Lake City                                         Chris Braziel and Michael Hood (Dre)
  5. Camden                                              Leroy Bracey (Cam) Raymond Keith (Geo)